Random links post!

Okay, I’m trying to keep up posting regularly, but also I don’t really have anything to talk about, thus – random links post!  (It’s like the hamburger helper of blogging!)

First off, I don’t know how I missed this for so long, but Ali Scott has a brilliant follow-up to my post about metonymy and casual Islamophobia on Tariq al-Hubb.

And woodturtle has a truly heartbreaking discussion of the tragic story of a Parisian woman losing her baby after being attacked and beaten from wearing a hijab.

And some non-Islam-related stuff that I’ve come across recently and thought was cool:

Groupthink[1] has an editorial from a recovering MRA about how he discovered that feminism wasn’t out to get him – I don’t know about anyone else, but personally, I really do think a guy who can correctly use “intersectionality” in a sentence is sexy.  I don’t know why PUAs haven’t picked up on that yet.

And buzzfeed (of all places?!) has a kind of cool discussion of why the equal rights imagery in True Blood is misguided, which gets into some interesting points about how privileged groups use that privilege to manipulate the general perception of oppressed groups (but not vampires, who are actually dangerous, because eating people and stuff).

So that’s my suggested reading for the week!  Let’s consider this an open thread – best blog post you’ve read this week?

[1] I always hesitate to post anything jezebel.com-related – I wholly concur with people who feel the site is problematic like whoa (“isn’t it terrible how the Patriarchy pits women against each other and makes them judge each other?!” … “oh hey, women celebrities is shiny dresses!  Let’s judge them!”).  But they still post some stuff I agree with, and at least so far, I’m more impressed by groupthink.

About askanislamicist

I'm an academic who specializes in early Islamic history and the history of religious interactions, who, in her free time, enjoys shouting into the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random links post!

  1. Stuart d says:

    We need more people like you!

Leave a Reply

