Another year, another apology post

So as the more astute among you may have noticed, I haven’t posted in awhile.  I wish I had a good reason for this, but the truth is that I’m working full-time and rewriting my doctoral thesis, and this eats up a lot of my time.  It’s unfair to say it eats up all of it – I still have a fair amount of time left over for eating, sleeping, playing video games and staring off into space, but it does eat up most of my processing power, so finding the energy and mental wherewithal to write more for this blog is becoming harder and harder.

Add to this that my office has just completed a massive grant submission that spanned most of the last three months, and everything just becomes a big, panicked blur.  But the grant is submitted now, and aside from flying back to the UK to attend a conference this week, it looks like my life is sort of calming down a bit.

I do genuinely enjoy writing this blog, so I have no intention of giving it up.  But at the same time, it remains something of a low priority on my to-do lists, and I think fairly so.  I’m going to continue to aim for posting at least once a week, mostly because I do better when I set myself precise goals (and not general ‘I should do something for this thing!’ kind of goals), and we’ll see how that goes.

About askanislamicist

I'm an academic who specializes in early Islamic history and the history of religious interactions, who, in her free time, enjoys shouting into the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another year, another apology post

  1. Michael Mock says:

    That actually sounds like a sensible approach.

Leave a Reply

