Brief Hiatus

Hello all!  Since my family are all in town for Christmas, and because I normally have problems enough getting myself to write without there being people in the house to play Rock Band with, askanislamicist is taking a brief hiatus for the holidays.  I’ll be back after the New Year.  I’ll still be moderating comments and checking my email, so if you come across any cool news articles or have a question for me, please do let me know, and I will answer them all straightaway when I come back.

In the meantime, I leave you with Buzzfeed’s 45 most powerful images of 2011 – not surprisingly, a lot of them relate to the Middle East and the Muslim world.  Some are beautiful, some are tragic, but I think together they paint a startling picture of just how much has happened this year.  Hopefully 2012 will give us an opportunity to regroup a little, and start to see the outcomes of these dramatic events.

Thank you all for all of your support this year – I had no idea what to expect when I started this blog, and I have been consistently pleasantly surprised.  Not only have I not been ignored or trolled off the internet, I’ve also discovered some great new ideas and made some great new (‘imaginary’, to use Michael Mock’s terminology) friends.

Happy Hanukah, happy Christmas and happy New Years, to all of you who celebrate them, and see you all in 2012!

All the best,

Jessica

About askanislamicist

I'm an academic who specializes in early Islamic history and the history of religious interactions, who, in her free time, enjoys shouting into the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brief Hiatus

  1. Nahida says:

    Oh God, that image of the starving little boy… induces tears… amazing that he was even still alive! I was so relieved to read he’d recovered.

  2. Converted Humanist says:

    “Wait, so I don’t have an entitlement to sex? No wonder people give me such strange looks for demanding it. Now i think I owe that old woman at the Target an apology . . ”

    Please do yourself a favor and don’t speak. Sex entitlement is not the argument please learn to listen. No one is entitled to sex or love but both are needed for most people. Sex is biological need for both men and women… well at least most of them. To ignore is this is to ignore biological needs.

    As for the pic of the straving child honestly what good is it looking at these pictures if actions isn’t taken. To just say ‘oh that’s terrible” and go right back to whatever you were doing makes no sense to me. Once I become financial stable I would to become a sponsor to these children so this won’t happen again. I donated money to help the relief in Japan even thou I wasn’t financially stable to do so. In other words, it better to do something about it then talk about it whether it’s volunteering for the Red Cross or simply donating a few dollars. Anything is better than nothing.

  3. Kiera Acker says:

    Very excellent info can be found on web site.

  4. Dan Wysock says:

    You completed various nice points there. I did a search on the subject and found nearly all folks will consent with your blog.

  5. Emil Schoeck says:

    Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “One cool judgment is worth a dozen hasty councils. The thing to do is to supply light and not heat.” by Woodrow Wilson.

  6. I love it when people come together and share opinions, great blog, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

